All the applicants need to meet the requirements that are set as a law in Alaska. First off, make sure to fill out the application blank for an Alaska tattoo license. For your information, it is the same form for body piercing and permanent cosmetic coloring.
In addition, there are various forms of applications depending on what type of certification you are applying for. These types include:
Note that they differ from each other according to the duration and experience of practice. You can apply in person, as online courses might not be accepted.
In AK, to obtain a student permit for the aim of having practice from an authorized practitioner, you should do the following:
In addition, the latter must be issued to the place where the training is going to take place. And, also, you get training in an authorized shop in AK. The master must be an individual who has a practitioner’s license in the field in which the trainee wants to receive. Please note that being 18 years of age or older is a must. To prove that submit your driver’s license or other ID card.
First things first, you need to meet the above-mentioned requirements before you will begin your apprenticeship and obtain a certificate. As for the application, you should also submit the certified copy of these two documents:
To obtain a certified true copy of a document, you need to submit the original one with a copy to a notary. Accordingly, you need to certify that you have presented the true copy of the original document, sign and date it. The office will notarize your signature and attach their seal, sign and date that.
Currently, the initial fee is $180. You will be able to submit it in the beginning, or after passing the exam. Usually, there are the dates/deadlines of examinations on the Board’s website. If you would like to have more details about the fee structure contact the division by calling +1 (907) 465-2550.
When you submit the receipt of the required fees along with the documentation, your request is reviewed and if approved, a student permit will be issued and mailed to you. Then, you may begin practice under the reception of the student authorization.
As a matter of fact, the training must include at least 270 hours of theory instruction and 150 hours of practical operations. You may obtain the remaining hours through a mixture of theory hours and functional operations or just practical operations. Please note that you should complete your tuition not more than 12 months from its beginning date.
Every applicant that currently has a valid certification to rehearse tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring in another state is entitled to receive a temporary permit. It is usually valid for more than six months. Sometimes the deadline is the day when the board either issues a permanent license or rejects the application. It is possible to make a request for a temporary permit on the blank form for permanent certification. It has to include the following:
Note that your example from another state should be current when AK issues your permanent one. If your certification in another state expires prior to its new issuing of the permanent one, you will need to renew your out-of-state certification.
For more information, please apply to the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Phone: (907) 465-2550
Email: [email protected]