Looking to work in Alaska as a handyman, contractor, or builder? Then you need to get your Alaska contractor license before you even walk onto the property of a customer.
Before you begin working in the state, the State of Alaska requires all contractors to have a license. Alaska law requires that contractors be registered with the Department of Community and Economic Development. The good news is that a simple guide has been developed to help you apply for your license. Here are the steps you need to take to get your Alaska Contractor’s License if you want to become an Alaska contractor.
A general contractor is a party responsible for managing a construction project and who concludes the prime contract with the owner of the property. General contractors carry out new home building, commercial work and residential remodeling work. New home building and residential jobs may also be managed and supervised by them.
To become licensed and appear on an Alaska contractor license search, multiple licensing and registration requirements must be met properly in order to operate as a contractor in the State of Alaska.
Thus, general contractors must obtain an Alaska Business License, applicable workers’ compensation, and liability insurance, in addition to passing the proper exams and fulfilling contractor-specific registration and licensing requirements.
You must complete Alaska Contractor License Registration Application. Then purchase Alaska Contractor License Bond. An Alaska Contractor License Bond safeguards your clients and guarantees the satisfaction and completion of your work projects. The amounts of the bonds are as follows:
You must also get liability Insurance which must be issued by an insurance agency. Your coverage must be no less than $20,000 for damage to property, $50,000 for one person’s injury or death, or $100,000 for more than one person’s injury or death.
Insurance must be issued by a private insurance carrier licensed in the State of Alaska for the purpose of doing business, and the contract for the payment of benefits must be written in compliance with Alaskan law.
‘Endorsement of all states’ is not appropriate. However, if you do not have employees, your business can be exempted from carrying workers’ compensation insurance.
Also, the total fee is $300 for new applicants. $65 non-refundable request fee plus a licensing fee of $235. For more information about business licenses, call 907-425-2550 or visit the Alaska Department of Commerce website.
General contractor applications require a residential endorsement if you wish to bid for or carry out one to four unit construction or remodeling of privately-owned residential structures.
You can submit your documents and application:
Contractor Licensing Section
State Office Building, 333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor,
PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Note this information when beginning Alaska contractors license search. Alaska Contractor License Applications are reviewed by the division within 15 days of receipt. Within 2 to 4 weeks, you will receive your registration information (or a rejection notification) and appear in a contractor license search Alaska.
Click here or call (907) 465-2546 or (907) 465-3035 to find out whether a mechanical, specialty or general contractor has been licensed by the Alaska Division of Occupation Licensing.
You can also conduct an Alaska general contractor license search at the top of this website. To see the results, simply enter some basic data.
Getting a license enables you to handle larger jobs that are potentially more lucrative. Plus, as opposed to unlicensed handymen, many clients are more likely to pay higher rates to licensed contractors. A general contractor license in Alaska will give you credibility. This credibility will help create trust with your clients.
A mechanical and specialty contractor license is easier to obtain than a general contractor license in Alaska. Check out the Alaska contractor classification guide for more information.
Your license is valid for a duration of 2 years. General contractor licenses will expire on December 31st of even years, and licenses for mechanical and specialty contractors will expire on December 31st of odd years.
There is NO reciprocity with other states at this time for a contractor license in Alaska.